Studying not only language but also people

Though I focus on studying “English conversations” now, I would like to study how to write good English.  I live in NYC, so I should focus on conventional English because it’s hard to study it in Japan.

Conversational English includes understanding American people.  Everytime I meet them, I learn new things about them.  I learn American people’s way of thinking through their behavior. I’m learning not only English but also about the U.S.  I think that studying English with a text book is not enough: you need to know about people who speak English and the countries they live in. So, I focus on “Conversational English” to improve my English and to gain knowledge about them.

I can read English books in Japan.  I’ll improve my reading and writing skills in Japan.  It’s hard to see native English speakers in my home town which is located in the country side.  I think what I wrote in this article is an advantage of studying abroad.

Leave a comment