I think I have noticed the language problem in Japan since I understand English.

I feel sad when I see this article.  >This is a Japanese article “Let’s read English articles

Only two people has social-bookmarked the article.  While many people make comments and bookmark his Japanese article, once he starts to write in English, almost every Japanese people stop reading his article and do not leave any comments.

I think his English articles aren’t difficult because he is Japanese and he isn’t a native English speaker.  Don’t normal Japanese people want to read any English?  Their attitude seems intellectually lazy, or the English education in Japan may be really bad.

I remember what my American friend made fun of.  When he traveled in Japan, and an airport staff, a Japanese lady, could speak pretty good English.  He thought that Japanese people are good at speaking English!  Unfortunately, he was wrong.  She was the best English speaker whom he met in Japan.  After leaving the airport, he had faced many language problems in Japan because most Japanese couldn’t understand his English. I think I have notice the language problem in Japan since I understand English; I can see Japan from a different point of view now.  If people don’t understand English or other foreign language, they may not notice the problem.

One response to “I think I have noticed the language problem in Japan since I understand English.

  1. When I was a high school studen, I saw foregin man watching at metro route figure.
    I thought if I could help him, so I speaked to him:”Can I help you?”
    He spoke “ie daijoubu desu”
    very funny experiment.

Leave a Reply

